Who’s who

St Michaels is currently in a vacancy.

Anyone who would like a visit at home or in hospital should contact one of the lay ministers in the first instance


Churchwardens represent the laity and co-operate with the priest, lead the parishioners by setting a good example and encouraging unity and peace and have a particular duty to maintain order and peace in the church and churchyard at all times. Our Churchwarden is Derek Fisher.  

Licensed lay ministers:

Licensed lay ministers are non-ordained ministers who are licensed to work alongside ordained colleagues in the parishes where they serve.

Jane HurdJane Hurd, tel. 01747 860218, email: jane.hurd (at) hotmail.com. Jane is licensed to Heytesbury Deanery.

Christine Marsh, tel. 01747 861212, email: c.marsh676 (at) btinternet.com

 Lay pastoral assistants:

Lay pastoral assistants are trained to help anyone in time of need, trouble or sickness. Anyone who would like a visit at home or in hospital should contact one of the lay assistants in the first instance.

Parochial Church Council (PCC):
The PCC is the governing body of the parish.

Parish Administrative Assistant: email: administrator (at) stmichaelsmere.org.uk


PCC  Secretary:  email administrator (at) stmichaelsmere.org.uk

Treasurer: Ann Dethick; email accounts (at) stmichaelsmere.org.uk

Elected members:  Pat Isom, Julia Rankin, Christine Marsh, Hamish Bell, Jane Hurd, Judy Bickerstaff, Barry Clarke, Christopher George Stallard, Sherry Dixon, Richard Wilson.

Co-opted Member: Councillor Lesley Traves.

Deanery Synod representatives: Rev’d John Page, Isabel Page.

Churchwarden:  Derek Fisher.

Organist and Choirmaster: Vacant

Website manager: Peter Mason, email: webmaster (at) stmichaelsmere.org.uk